PDA

View Full Version : Can "OIDO" be learned?

chopinsky
07.11.02, 11:24 AM
hello..

I'm a classical pianist but I also play pop and church music by chords... kaya lng i always depend on scores... i always need pyesa when i play...

i'm just curious coz may gusto magpaturo sa akin ng piano but not through notes.. she wants "oido". can it be learned? or by listening practice lang?

I've been dreaming to learn how to play the piano or keyboard by "oido".. any tips on how to do it?

thanks! :)

titopao
07.11.02, 01:15 PM
Oido is a listening skill. This means that you can accurately listen to a given pitch or pitches and, if possible, translate it into singing or playing (on an instrument) exactly as you heard it. At it's very basic, you can also distinguish between a major and minor chord (and, if you're daring enough, you can also recognize diminished and augmented chords as well. I haven't even mentioned chords with the seventh!!!). You don't have to name them, just that you know how it sounds or "feel" when a chord is a major or minor chord.

That's just for starters: In a more extreme case, I would really demonize a person who wants to prove his/her oido skills by playing a pitch or a short collection of pitches and write it on a piece of blank music paper---in the exact space on the grand staff, no octave transpositions allowed :O If I'm sadistic, I'd ask the same person to transcribe a complete piece exactly as it was recorded, with absolutely no wrong note on the transcription and without the aid of an instrument :devil: I kid you not: if you're applying as a Composition major in the UP Conservatory of Music (that is, Prof. Ryan Cayabyab's major), they may ask you to do this (or something similar) during the second round of qualifying exams/auditions. So para dun sa mga nangangarap mag-apply as Composition majors sa UP College of Music.... :)